Celebrating Cook Island Language Week Opening Ceremony 30/ 7/2018 . Week 2

Theme:                                COOK ISLANDS
Kia ngākau parau, kia rangarangatu to tatou Reo Māori Kūki Āirani

Be proud of our Reo Māori Kūki Āirani and protect its future!

The Cook Island are made up of fifteen small islands located in the South Pacific Ocean and have a total land area of approximately 240 square kilometres.
The Cook Islands lie north-east of New Zealand, between French Polynesia and Fiji and were first settled in the 6th century AD by Polynesian people, who migrated from Tahiti. Nowadays, the population is just under 20,000, although many more Cook Islanders live in New Zealand.
There are fifteen major islands in the Cook Islands, which are divided into two distinct groups of coral atolls: the Southern Cook Islands and the Northern Cook Islands.
The Southern Cook Islands are made from mainly volcanic activity, they are quite hilly and have more vegetation and wildlife.
The Cook Islands are very popular tourist destination.
The majority of the population lives in the Southern group, while the Northern Cook Islands group consists of flat coral atolls which are sparsly populated. An atoll is a sunken volcano topped with coral growth.

Today we had the Openeing ceremony for the Cook Island Language week

The students have today coloured in their flowers and turtles to form a Tivaevae. Tivaevae or tivaivai (Cook Islands Māori: tīvaevae) in the Cook Islands, tifaifai in French Polynesia, is a form of artistic quilting traditionally done by Polynesian women. The word literally means "patches", in reference to the pieces of material sewn together. 

Tomorrow the class will be painting and sticking their designs onto a big piece of paper and together that will form into a  Tivaevaa. 


  1. ‪#MeitakiMaata #Tumanako10 for posting regarding #CookIslandLanguageWeek at @RowandaleSchool. #KiaManuia #KaKite‬


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Duffy Role Model Assembly with Marc Duffy Week 9 (19/9/2018)